Sewing Again

I started sewing when I was in fourth grade. My first project was a blue and white gingham apron with a pocket. I sewed my own wedding dress, continued with curtains for the house and clothes for our kids…until they gained “brand awareness” in their early elementary years. And then…aside from some work on hand-pieced quilt, I pretty much ran out of time for any sewing.

Earlier this summer, I happened to wander into a local quilt shop just as the fabrics came out for the Minnesota Quilt Shop Hop. I was inspired to try my hand at quilting again, and that brings us to today’s posting. My first project to get back into the swing is a Halloween table runner. The pattern, purchased at one of the participating quilt shop hop stores, uses paper foundation piecing technique for the squares. I still have more work to do on the borders (and the photo isn’t great), but I’m pleased with the progress so far.

Pieced top of Halloween table runner

Once the top is completed, I plan to machine quilt in some type of spider-web design. On the colorful squares, I’ll use black thread, but the border will be quilted with some glow-in-the-dark thread that I picked up a couple of years back. The only thing I’d change is making sure the values of the fabric I used on the outside edges would stand out from the black background.

Leave a Reply

